Stop taking the people you love for granted

Time passes quickly. Make sure your peeps know how you feel about them.

Christiana White
3 min readSep 26, 2022
Photo by Shaira Dela Peña on Unsplash

It keeps happening. I keep losing the people I love long before I’m ready. As if we’re ever ready. How do I stop taking the people I love for granted?

Yesterday, I attended a concert in Napa with a dear friend. We met at his place and set out for the Charles Krug winery, where a jazz show was to be held beneath towering oaks on the vineyard grounds.

In the car, my friend mentioned he’s having some serious health challenges. I knew this already. But now, various issues are cropping up and layering upon one another in a frightening manner. During our discussion, my friend happened to reveal he’s now 74 years old. I was flooded with shame and shock. 74? I thought he was still in his early 60s. But, how could I have?

Apparently, I’m in complete and utter denial of time passing.

I am also older, of course, and thinking about it all of the time, as in retirement, retiring, when to retire, how does one retire, getting ready to retire, etc. Yet, I failed to see that the people I love are aging, that their health is growing fragile, that time is limited.

I am surrounded by these people, the people I love.

--

--